Menu Foxes Piece School
Home Page

Foxes Piece School

Early Years Foundation Stage (Reception)

Pupils in the Reception Class follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum in which the children work towards “Early Learning Goals” which summarise the knowledge, skills and understanding that all young children should have gained by the end of the Reception year.


There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in all Early Years settings.  All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.  However three areas are particular crucial for igniting their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.


These three prime areas are:


  •  Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  • Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.
  • Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.